8th Ellen Bozman Award: It Takes a Working Group

The 2016 Ellen M. Bozman Affordable Housing Award recognized twenty Arlingtonians whose commitment helped bring about the County's first Affordable Housing Master Plan. The award was shared by:

Mary Hughes Hynes, who was Arlington County Board Chair during 2015 when the AHMP was under consideration and eventually passed. Hynes was first elected to the Arlington County Board in 2007 after serving as a member of the Arlington School Board for 12 years. Read her remarks.

Marsha Allgeier, who was Assistant County Manager, responsible for oversight of Arlington’s Housing and Community Planning divisions during the development of the AHMP. Before her retirement in 2015, she had worked on planning, neighborhood and human services issues in Arlington for over 35 years.

The 18 members of the Affordable Housing Study Working Group, who were appointed by the County Manager in 2012 to help shape the affordable housing vision for Arlington County. Working with County staff, the group committed substantial time to the research, needs analysis, surveys, and extensive community outreach needed to craft the AHMP’s recommendations. (See working group member affiliations.)

Left to right, back: Saul Reyes, David Leibson, Richard Donohoe, Matthew de Ferranti, Ori Weisz, Robert Bushkoff, Stephen Sockwell, Michael Spotts, Russell Schroeder (County staff resource), John S. Grant. Front: Lisa Sturtevant (consultant to the Group), Doris Topel–Gantos, Mary Hynes, Marsha Allgeier, Kathryn Scruggs, Joan Lawrence. (Honorees not pictured: Dr. Leonard Hamlin, Sr., Umair Ahsan, Shelynda Burney Brown, Linda Kelleher, David Peterson, Candice Rose)

A big thank you to our generous event sponsors---see the complete list.

Review the program, and meet our honorees in a slideshow.

Read the Inside NOVA coverage of the event online or in a printable version.

Browse a photo gallery of the event.

Learn more about the Ellen Bozman Award and past recipients.